Powered by Ajaxy

BHM News & Notes

December 5, 2015

Cleveland Rams at League Park

Writer/Historian Vince Guerrieri will celebrate the 70th anniversary of the final National Football League game at League Park with a program on the Cleveland Rams.  The Rams won nine of 10 regular season games in 1945, with home games at League Park, before winning the NFL Championship game versus the Washington Redskins at Cleveland Municipal Stadium on December 16, 1945.  The program will also look at the classic Major League Baseball parks, like League Park, that also played host to NFL teams. The program will begin at noon.

December 12, 2015

A Celebration of Baseball Stories and Storytellers

Join us for a gathering of baseball storytellers and enjoy a day of baseball stories old and new, fact and fiction.  Meet and greet baseball authors, historians and documentarians.  Expected authors include Russ Schneider (The Cleveland Indians Encyclopedia and many others), Morris Eckhouse (Legends of the Tribe and others), Stephanie Liscio (Integrating Cleveland Baseball), Joe Wancho (Pitching to the Pennant), Susan Petrone (Throw Like a Woman), Robyn Marcs (Out of Left Field) and Bryan Fritz (League Park).  Representatives from Cleveland Public Library will also be on hand to discuss its tremendous baseball resources.  We will also look at stories told by the Baseball Heritage Museum including the League Park story.  The museum will be open extended hours on the 12th until 5 PM.  The event will begin at noon.

Jack and Larry

One of baseball’s great story tellers was Jack Graney and one of baseball’s great stories is that of Jack and his dog Larry.  Barbara Gregorich has captured the story of Jack and Larry in book form.  In honor of Graney, the former Cleveland Indians left-fielder, play-by-play voice, and finalist for the National Baseball Hall of Fame’s Ford Frick Award, Barbara has lowered the price of the ebook  Jack and Larry from $3.99 to 99 cents — from now through December 9, 2015.

Graney is one of ten finalists for the 2016 Frick Award.  The winner will be announced on December 9.